Ancient Nagoya castle was built in 1612 as the main residence of the famous family of rulers of the Tokugawa shoguns. Until 1871 he was the main political and administrative centre of the Principality of Owari, was here to put the fate of the best people of the country and history was made. While in 1945 the United States aircraft during world war II virtually erased National treasure of Japan in the dust. Fortunately, the castle was rebuilt, and reconstruction has started thanks to the donations of ordinary people of Nagoya in 1959. Today this citadel is the symbol of the city, one in a hundred of the best castles in the country, in a word, the sight marked “must-visit”.
The history of Nagoya castle refers to the ancient fortress of “willow court” that was built on this spot in the first half of the 16th century ruler of Imagawa Uzytki. In 1532, the fortifications were captured by the ruler of the Owari ODA Nobuhide, he renamed it the castle of Nagoya. However “full” the citadel began only in the Edo period, when to power came the glorious family of the Tokugawa, namely, in 1610 Then funds are not stingy and pompous residence was erected on the roof shone Golden amulets setyoko that were visible for tens of kilometers from Nagoya.
Satihoga — two fish with the head of a tiger, which was thought to have to protect the castle from fires.
Buildings on site there were many — in addition to the main tower, here has built a rich Palace, 5 yards extensive and picturesque Japanese garden is a favorite resting place of the rulers of the city.
The Nagoya citadel — symbol of the city, one in a hundred of the best castles in the country, in a word, the sight marked “must-visit”.
During the restoration of the castle was almost demolished, giving the Museum two figures satihoga. Fortunately, this did not happen, however, saved the citadel was for a while. Already in 1891, in Nagoya there was a great earthquake Mino-Owari, which affected the main courtyard of the castle. Corner tower and tower Therehe collapsed, and the main tower and the Palace was seriously damaged. Of course, careful and taking care of their heritage, the Japanese have restored everything, giving in 1930, the castle in the public domain. Simply put, there opened a Museum. Alas, he worked before the war. During the Second world setyoko gold were withdrawn, lest they should serve as landmarks for enemy aircraft, also saved part of the wall paintings. But the castle itself to protect failed: he is fired under the target bombarded by the US air force.
Survived from bombing only three towers and three gates, and part of the garden, and nearly all the Foundation. Ruins called the Museum again and began methodically and meticulously to restore. Already in 1959 it was restored the main tower, which became another symbol of the city. It opened the Museum of the history of Nagoya city, which can still be visited today.
The remaining part of the castle complex still restore. They say that thanks to the program of the Agency for cultural Affairs under the Ministry of sports, education and culture of Japan, the restoration of the Nagoya castle will be over by 2022